The Donna Summer Tribute Site

Entertainment World

September 30, 2003

Donna Summer
The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer

(UTV/Mercury /UM)
Release Sept. 30, 2003

Advance copy reviewed

When I listened to Donna Summer’s “The Journey” I realized I did not hate disco…but liked the groove. I had worked as a Music Director / DJ at America’s first 24 hour disco station KJLA in Kansas City in the disco days which was started by former GM of KISS-FM Los Angeles. A lot of bad records got radio airplay because of the lack of good Disco / Dance Records. However Donna Summer was one of the Artists that stood out from rest of the pack because she was a perfectionist and had one of the greatest producers of all time Giorgio Moroder who produced 12 hits for the Queen of Disco. When you listen to this collection you know why you hear the songs in movies, on the radio and still in nightclubs.

Wouldn’t it be great it Donna Summer records something new? Watch out Britney, Christina and Kelly the real diva of dance is back and she smoking hot…Donna’s teamed up with Giorgio Moroder once again for two tracks. One of the tracks Dream-A-Lot’s Theme (I Will Live For Love) should be the lucky thirteen hit for Donna and Giorgio.

So what’s on the Album?

  1. Love To Love You Baby (Love to Love You Baby was Donna’s first single to hit Gold and turned out a 17 minute disco mix….)

  2. Could It Be Magic (remake of Barry Manilow’s hit song)

  3. I Feel Love (Bonus CD has 12 Inch version of song)

  4. I Love You

  5. Last Dance (from the film “Thank God It’s Friday”) She won an Oscar and Grammy for her performance. (Grammy Award Best R & B Artist)

  6. MacArthur Park

  7. Heaven Knows

  8. Hot Stuff (Bonus CD has 12 Inch version of song) Donna won Grammy Award for Best Rock Female Vocal Performance. Also she back the first Solo Diva to score 3 #1 records in one year with “Hot Stuff”, MacArthur Park and Bad Girls

  9. Bad Girls

  10. Dim All The Lights

  11. Donna teamed up with Barbra Streisand for another #1 “No More Tears”

  12. The gold records continue with “On the Radio”

  13. Donna Summer because the first Artist signed to Geffen Records and kicked of the label to great start with “The Wanderer

  14. Love Is In Control produced by Quincy Jones

  15. State of Independence (cover of Jon Anderson – Vangelis track)

  16. She Works Hard For the Money

  17. This Time I Know It’s For Real

  18. I Will Go With You (Con Te Partiro)

  19. That’s The Way - New Recording with Giorgio Moroder

  20. Dream-A-Lot’s Theme (I Will Live For Love) New Recording with Giorgio Moroder

Bonus CD

  1. I Feel Love -12 Inch Disco Record

  2. Hot Stuff -12 Inch Disco Record

  3. This Time I Know It’s For Real – 12 Inch Dance Mix

  4. Dream-A-Lot’s Theme – 12 Inch Dance Mix

  5. You’re So Beautiful- 12 Inch Dance Mix 

This album has been re-mastered and will have you rocking the house with these mixes. Put this double CD collection on at your next party and the booties will start shaken…and the one that don’t, they should not have been invited to THE PARTY!

Rated 5 out of 5

Review by Steve Owens

 © 2003 Entertainment World
Copyright 1997-2021